Finally have correct diagnosis

New members can introduce themselves here

Finally have correct diagnosis

Postby kalbright » Tue Feb 06, 2018 6:06 pm

Hi...I'm glad I found this forum ! I've been researching my diagnosis since September 2017. I was re diagnosed with Familial CCM after a bleed got me transported to a Houston Hospital. I have 2 brainstem angiomas and 15 or 20 of them around my brain. The bleeders are in the brainstem and were originally diagnosed as AVM when my first bleed at age 28. Now, with new imaging techniques they are able to see more of them and determined that I had actually grown 1 more in the brainstem. Because I have multiple CCM I was referred to genetics and incompletion of the testing I was told I had CCM 2 Exon 2-10 deletion. According to the doctors in Houston Have had repeated bleeds in the brainstem so they can't tell how big they are. They are both inoperable and I am still trying to wrap my head around all of this information. I have researched this topic until I can't see straight anymore and fighting to not feel defeated and depressed. It seems so BIG !! The headaches are pretty large and the bleed left me with ringing ears and pins and needles in my face, tongue, mouth, and right hand. The double vision has cleared up, my left eye has returned to its intended position, and my speech is normal. I feel grateful for those things. Now I just have to remake my life in terms that are good for my health and satisfying to me. THAT is the challenge I think. I feel overwhelmed with all of this information and surprised at this new diagnosis. Still wrapping my head around of it. I think its going to take some time to get used to this.
kalbright

Re: Finally have correct diagnosis

Postby Elizabeth » Wed Feb 07, 2018 7:10 am

Welcome,